DEKALB COUNTY COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH BOARD

OUTCOMES COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF MEETING

January 19, 2017

Approved

Committee Members Present: Merlin Wessels, Marilyn Stromborg, Jane Olson, Sue Plote

Other Persons Present:

Office staff: Deanna Cada, Kathy Ostdick

1. Call to Order

Mr. Wessels called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

2. Agenda Approval

Dr. Stromborg moved to approve the agenda; seconded by Ms. Olson. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

3. Minutes

Ms. Olson moved to approve the minutes of the 11/7/16 meeting; seconded by Ms. Plote. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

4. Recommendations - Outcome Measurement Framework Report

Ms. Cada reported that Dr. Alisha Schatteman had suggested in her report that the Board look at funding philosophies. Do we want to increase access for clients and if yes is the answer then we should be funding on a fee-for-service basis. Do we want to improve the quality of services and if that is yes then we should be funding on a grant basis. Or do we want to incorporate both philosophies. Depending on the payment model, the outcomes would be different.

Mr. Wessels discussed whether agencies should be asked for individual patient outcomes or program outcomes. He said that individual outcomes drive treatment and that we need outcomes that give standardized results.

Both Mr. Wessels and Ms. Cada had lists of funded agencies broken down by payment types. The Committee decided to review each agency on the list as to if they were fee-for-service or grant funded and what type of outcomes they should be reporting. The Committee discussed the agencies that were grant funded and will discuss the ones that are fee-for-service funded or a combination of both funding types at the next meeting.

5. Quarterly Statistics Reports

This was discussed during the above topic.

6. DCCMHB Outcomes

This was also discussed during the above topic.

7. Other

Nothing else to report.

8. Date of next meeting: 2/6/17 at 5:00 pm

9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:27 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Merlin Wessels, Committee Chair

Kathy Ostdick, Recording Secretary