COUNTY BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL PROCEEDINGS

December 6, 2004

The DeKalb County Board met in special session at the Legislative Center on Monday, December 6, 2004 for the purpose of organizing for the 2004 - 2006 term. Chairman Sands called the meeting to order. The Clerk called the roll. Those Members present were Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Steve Faivre, Vince Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Johnson, Ms. LaVigne, Mrs. Leifheit, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Slack. Mr. Steimel, Mrs. Tobias, Mr. Van Buer, Ms. Vary, Mr. Wilson and Chairman Sands. Those Members absent were Mrs. Allen, Mr. MacMurdo, Mr. Metzger and Mr. Wiegand.

The Chair asked Ms. Fullerton to lead the pledge to the flag.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion

Mr. Slack moved to strike from the Agenda, Resolutions #2005-01, 2005-02 and 2005-03. Mrs. Dubin seconded the motion.

Show of Hands

Ten voted yea and ten voted nay. Motion failed

Motion

Ms. LaVigne moved to approve the Agenda as presented. Ms. Fullerton seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair called for a voice vote on the approval of the Agenda. A majority of the Members voted yea. Motion carried.

Mr. Wiegand arrived at 7:35 p.m.

COMMUNICATIONS AND REFERRALS

The Chairman noted that an updated schedule of Standing Committees had been placed on the tables

PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no individuals requesting time to address the Board Members.

RECOGNITION OF RETIRING COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS

Chairman Sands presented a plaque to Mr. Wilson for his eight years of service on the County Board. Mr. Wilson spoke about his realization of the work that is done by the County Board and thanked the staff and department heads for their hard work.

Chairman Sands presented a plaque to Joe Wiegand for his years of service to the Board. Mr. Wiegand spoke about the "heros" in the community doing their job daily and working hard for the County.

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN PRO TEM

Nominations

Chairman Sands called for nominations for Chairman Pro Tem for the Organization Meeting of the new County Board

Motion

Mr. Steimel nominated John Wilson for Chairman Pro Tem for purposes of Organization. Ms. Fauci seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the nomination of John Wilson as Chairman Pro Tem. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion

Mr. Lyle moved to adjourn the meeting of the former Board. Vince Faivre seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the motion to adjourn. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER

Chairman Pro Tem Wilson called the meeting to order.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OF OFFICE TO NEW COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS

The County Clerk administered the oath of Office to all new County Board members elected at the November 2004 General Election. Those taking the oath were Larry Anderson, Howard J. Lyle, Roger Steimel, Anita turner, Robert Rosemier, Ruth Anne Tobias, Frank Van Buer, Sally De Fauw, Julia Fullerton, Jeff Whelan, Vince Faivre and Patricia S. Vary.

ROLL CALL VOTE FOR NEWLY SEATED COUNTY BOARD

The Clerk called the roll of the newly seated County Board. Those Members present were Mr. Anderson, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Steve Faivre, Vince Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Johnson, Ms. LaVigne, Mrs. Leifheit, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Slack, Mr. Steimel, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Van Buer, Ms. Vary, Mr. Whelan and Chairman Sands. Those Members absent were Mrs. Allen and Mr. Metzger. Twenty-two Members were present and two Members were absent.

Resolution R2005-01: Reorganization Resolution

Mr. Wilson asked State's Attorney Matekaitis to read Resolution 2005-01 for the record Motion

Mr. Sands moved to approve a Resolution to elect a Republican nominee as Chairman for two years and then in December 2005 that Republican Chairman will resign and Members will elect a Democratic Chairman. Mr. Lyle seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chair called for a roll call vote on the motion. Those Members voting yea were Mr. Anderson, Vince Faivre, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Johnson, Ms. LaVigne,

Mrs. Leifheit, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Steimel and Mr. Sands. Those Members voting nay were Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Slack, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Van Buer, Ms. Vary and Mr. Whelan. One Member, Steve Faivre abstained. Ten Members voted yea, eleven Members voted nay and one Member abstain. Motion failed.

Motion to Amend

Mr. Slack moved to amend Resolution R2005-01. Beginning in the 3rd paragraph the sentence should read "Whereas, since the election of a Chairman of the Board is ordinarily carried out by a majority vote." Then strike everything else down to - NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved that the Members of the DeKalb County Board do hereby nominate Ruth Anne Tobias for Chairman of the County Board for a two year term. Mr. Van Buer seconded the motion.

Following this motion, the 10 Republican Members walked out of the meeting.

The State's Attorney, Mr. Matekaitis, researched the issue and instructed the Chairman Pro Tem to call the roll to determine if a quorum existed.

Roll Call Vote

Chair Pro Tem asked for a roll call vote to determine if there is a quorum. Those Members present were Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Steve Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Slack, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Van Buer, Ms. Vary and Mr. Whelan. Those Members absent were Mrs. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Vince Faivre, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Johnson, Ms. Lavigne, Mrs. Leifheit, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Steimel and Chairman Sands. Twelve Members were present and twelve Members were absent.

Board Rules indicate a quorum is 13. The Chair Pro Tem is no longer a Member of the body since Mrs. Turner is sworn in and succeeds Mr. Wilson. Therefore, only 12 Members are present (no quorum) no vote may take place except to adjourn or recess.

ADJOURNMENT

<u>Motion</u>

Steve Faivre moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Vary seconded the motion.

<u>Voice Vote</u> The Chair asked for a voice vote on the motion to adjourn. A majority of the Members voted yea. Motion carried.	
	DeKalb County Board Chairman
ATTEST:	
DeKalb County Clerk	