COUNTY BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL PROCEEDINGS

December 4, 2006

The DeKalb County Board met in special session at the Legislative Center on Monday December 4, 2006 for the purpose of organizing for the 2006 -2008 term. Chairman Tobias called the meeting to order. The Clerk called the roll. Those Members present were Mrs. Allen, Mr. Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Ms. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Ms. LaVigne, Mrs. Leifheit, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Whelan and Chairman Tobias. Those Members absent were Mr. Sands, Mr. Slack and Ms. Tolene. Twenty-one Members were present and three Members were absent.

The Chair asked Mr. Lyle to lead the pledge to the flag.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion

Ms. Fauci moved to approve the Agenda and Mr. Augsburger seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair called for a voice vote on the approval of the Agenda. Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

COMMUNICATIONS AND REFERRALS

There were no items for Communications and Referrals for this meeting.

PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no individuals requesting time to address the Board Members.

RECOGNITION OF RETIRING COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS

Chairman Tobias presented Sue Leifheit with a plaque recognizing her many years of service to the County as a Board Member. Mrs. Leifheit then thanked Dept. heads, staff members and other County Board Members for their part in making her seventeen years on the Board memorable.

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN PRO TEM

Nominations

Chairman Tobias called for nominations for Chairman Pro Tem for the Organizational Meeting of the New County Board.

Motion

Mr. Steimel nominated Sue Leifheit for Chairman Pro Tem for purposes of Organization. Ms. Fauci seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the nomination of Sue Leifheit as Chairman Pro Tem. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion

Mrs. Turner moved to adjourn the meeting of the former Board. Mr. Whelan seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the motion to adjourn. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER

Chairman Pro Tem Mrs. Leifheit called the meeting to order.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OF OFFICE TO NEW COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS

The Honorable Judge Robbin Stuckert administered the Oath of Office to all new County Board Members elected at the November 2006 General Election.

Those Members taking the oath were Michael J. Stuckert Sr., Michael P. Haines, Kenneth Andersen, John T. Hulseberg, Richard Osborne, Stephen R. Walt, Sally De Fauw, Jerry D. Augsburger, Eileen Dubin, Julia Fauci, Patricia L. "Pat" LaVigne, John L. Gudmunson, Marlene D. Allen and Jeffery L. Metzger, Sr.

ROLL CALL VOTE FOR NEWLY SEATED COUNTY BOARD

The Clerk called the roll of the newly seated County Board. Those Members present were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt and Mr. Whelan. All twenty-four Members were present.

ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD CHAIRMAN

Nominations

The Chairman Pro Tem called for Nominations for County Board Chairman.

Motion

Ms. Fauci nominated Ruth Anne Tobias. Mr. Haines seconded the nomination.

CLOSE NOMINATIONS

Motion

Mrs. Turner moved to close the Nominations for County Board Chairman. Mr. Osborne seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chairman Pro Tem called for a roll call vote on the nomination of Ruth Ann Tobias as County Board Chairman. Those Members voting yea were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt and Mr. Whelan. All twenty-four Members voted. Motion carried unanimously.

ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD VICE - CHAIRPERSON

Nominations

The Chairman Pro Tem called for Nominations for County Board Vice - Chairperson.

Motion

Ms. Haines nominated Patricia S. Vary. Mrs. Dubin seconded the nomination.

CLOSE NOMINATIONS

Motion

Mr. Augsburger moved to close the Nominations for County Board Vice-Chairman. Ms. Fullerton seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chairman Pro Tem called for a roll call vote on the nomination of Patricia S. Vary as County Board Vice - Chairman. Those Members voting yea were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt and Mr. Whelan. All twenty-four Members voted. Motion carried unanimously.

Following the Election, the new County Board Chairman was seated

Chairman Tobias took her position as Chairman of the County Board.

COUNTY BOARD COMMITTEES DESIGNATED.

The Chair announced the County Board Committee Appointments for the 2007 - 2008 term. Committee Assignments - As of December 4, 2006 are as follows: **Economic Development** Committee - Chair: Eileen Dubin, Vice Chair: Steve Walt, Ken Andersen, Julia Fauci, Jeff Metzger, Sr., Michael Stuckert and Pat Vary; Executive Committee - Chair: Ruth Anne Tobias, Vice Chair: Pat Vary, Eileen Dubin, Julia Fauci, Michael Haines, Pat LaVigne, Richard Osborne, Robert Rosemier and Roger Steimel; Finance Committee - Chair: Michael Haines, Vice Chair: Vince Faivre, Jerry Augsburger, Julia Fullerton, John Hulseberg, Roger Steimel and Ruth Anne Tobias; Forest Preserve Committee - Chair: Julia Fauci, Vice Chair: Anita Turner, Larry Anderson, Sally De Fauw, John Gudmunson, Howard Lyle and Robert Rosemier; Health & Human Services Committee - Chair: Robert Rosemier, Vice Chair: Julia Fullerton, Pat LaVigne, Jeff Metzger, Sr., Richard Osborne and Jeff Whelan; Highway Committee - Chair: Pat LaVigne, Vice Chair: Jerry Augsburger, Larry Anderson, John Gudmunson, Michael Stuckert, Steve Walt and Jeff Whelan; Law & Justice Committee - Chair: Richard Osborne, Vice Chair: Sally De Fauw, Marlene Allen, Ken Andersen, John Hulseberg, Howard Lyle and Ruth Anne Tobias; Planning & Zoning Committee - Chair: Roger Steimel, Vice Chair: Pat Vary, Marlene Allen, Eileen Dubin, Vince Faivre, Michael Haines and Anita Turner.

COUNTY BOARD COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS APPOINTEDMotion

Mr. Osborne made a motion to approve the Committee Appointments. Ms. Vary seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the motion to approve the Appointments. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS

There were no items for new or old business for this meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion

Mr. Augsburger moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Lyle seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the motion to adjourn. All Members voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

	DeKalb County Board Chairman
ATTEST:	
DeKalb County Clerk	