COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

January 17, 2007

The DeKalb County Board met in regular session at the Legislative Center on Wednesday, January 17, 2007. Chairman Tobias called the meeting to order and the Clerk called the roll. Those Members present were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt, and Chairman Tobias. Those Members absent were Ms. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Osborne and Mr. Whelan. Twenty Members were present and four Members were absent.

The Chair asked Mr. Metzger to lead the pledge to the flag.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion

Ms. Vary moved to approve the Minutes of the December 20, 2006 meeting. Mr. Lyle seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the approval of the Minutes. All Members present voted yea.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

<u>Motion</u>

Mr. Steimel moved to approve the Agenda and Mrs. Turner seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the approval of the Agenda. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Gudmunson arrived at 7:35 p.m.

COMMUNICATIONS AND REFERRALS

Attention was brought to the Winterfest Brochure on the tables from the Forest Preserve.

Members were given information from the University of Illinois Extension Services regarding a series of Local Government Education Tele-Institutes.

This months Service Awards were acknowledged by Chairman Tobias.

APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Tobias recommended the following appointments: <u>DeKalb County Rehab and</u> <u>Nursing Center Operating Board</u> k- Veronica Casella, George Daugherty, Eileen Dubin, Nate Kloster, Ruth Anne Tobias and Richard Ubl, all reappointed for a one year term, until January 1, 2008; <u>Regional Planning Commission</u> - Ralph Tompkins, Primary reappointment for the Village of Maple Park, for a three year term, until January 1, 2010; Clyde Wakefield, Alternate appointment for the Village of Maple Park, for a three year term, until January 1, 2010; Suzanne Sedlacek, Primary appointment for the Village of Waterman, for a three year term, until January 1, 2010 and Scott Hunt, Alternate appointment for the Village of Waterman, for a three year term, for a three year term, until January 1, 2010.

Motion

Mr. Rosemier moved to approve the appointments as presented. Mr. Stuckert seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the appointments. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no individuals requesting time to address the Board Members.

REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

COUNTY HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Resolution 2007 - 08: 2007 General County Letting

<u>Motion</u>

Ms. LaVigne moved to approve a Resolution to authorize the County Highway Department to request bids from local plants and quarries for road maintenance materials to be used by the County and all 19 Road Districts during the year. Ms. Vary seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chair called for a roll call vote on the Resolution. Those Members voting yea were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt, and Chairman Tobias. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

Resolution 2007 - 09: Bid Award For One New Snowplow and Frame

<u>Motion</u>

Ms. LaVigne moved to accept a Resolution approving the bid award for one new snow plow and frame to the lowest bidder, Monroe Truck Sales from Monroe, Wisconsin in the amount of \$67,281.00. Mrs. Turner seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chair called for a roll call vote on the Resolution. Those Members voting yea were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt, and Chairman Tobias. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

Resolution 2007 - 10: Annual MFT for Salaries and Equipment for 2007

<u>Motion</u>

Ms. LaVigne moved to approve a Resolution allowing MFT Funds to be used for certain salaries and activities and the rental of County Equipment. Mr. Steimel seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chair called for a roll call vote on the Resolution. Those Members voting yea were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt, and Chairman Tobias. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Resolution R2007 - 11: Agreement with the State of Illinois and the Iowa, Chicago and Eastern</u> <u>Railroad</u>

<u>Motion</u>

Ms. LaVigne moved to approve a Resolution to enter into an agreement with the State of Illinois and the Iowa, Chicago and Eastern Railroad for the purpose of crossing improvements on Five Points Road at the Iowa, Chicago and Eastern Railroad crossing, located in Kingston, just North of Rt. 72. Mr. Haines seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the Resolution. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

<u>Claims</u>

Mr. Haines moved to approve the Claims presented for the current month in the amount of \$2,029,487.54 and Payroll & Emergency Claims from prior month in the amount of \$3,822,180.34. Ms. Vary seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

The Chair called for a roll call vote on the Claims. Those Members voting yea were Mrs. Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Mr. Augsburger, Ms. De Fauw, Mrs. Dubin, Mr. Faivre, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Haines, Mr. Hulseberg, Ms. LaVigne, Mr. Lyle, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Rosemier, Mr. Steimel, Mr. Stuckert, Mrs. Turner, Ms. Vary, Mr. Walt, and Chairman Tobias. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Reports of County Officials</u>

Mr. Haines moved to place on file the following reports of County Officials; <u>Cash and Investments in County Banks</u> - December, 2006; <u>Planning and Regulations Building and Permits Reports</u> - December, 2006; <u>Public Defender's Report</u> - December, 2006; <u>Court Services Adult & Juvenile Report</u> - November, 2006 and <u>Jail Population Monthly Report</u> - December, 2006. Mr. Stuckert seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the Reports on file. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS

There were no items for new or old business for this meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

<u>Motion</u>

Mr. Lyle moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Walt seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

The Chair asked for a voice vote on the motion to adjourn. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

DeKalb County Board Chairman

ATTEST:

DeKalb County Clerk