# EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES JUNE 9, 2009

The Executive Committee of the DeKalb County Board met on Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 7:00p.m. at the Administration Building's Conference Room East. Chairman Ruth Anne Tobias called the meeting to order. Members present were Marlene Allen, Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Eileen Dubin, Julia Fauci, Michael Haines, Pat LaVigne and Jeff Metzger, Sr. Others present were Ray Bockman, Gary Hanson, Steve Walt, John Hulseberg, Paul Miller, Anita Turner, Mark Todd, John Emerson, Jerry Augsburger, Paul Stoddard, Riley Oncken, Kate Schott, Scott Newport, Pat Vary, Sally DeFauw Greg Millburg and Aaron Ruder.

## APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Moved by Mr. Metzger, Sr., seconded by Ms. Allen, and it was carried unanimously to approve the minutes from May 2009.

## APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Moved by Ms. LaVigne, seconded by Mr. Haines, and it was carried unanimously to approve the agenda.

## **APPOINTMENTS**

1.) Regional Planning Commission: Ms. Kathleen Curtis, appointment to fill

the unexpired

term of Mr. Ralph Tompkins for the

Village of Maple Park, until

01/01/2010.

2.) 911 Emergency Telephone

Systems Board: Mr. Todd Walker, appointment to fill

the unexpired term of Mr. Ben Suppeland, until 12/1/2009.

3. DeKalb County State's Attorney: Mr. John Farrell, to fill the expired term

of Mr. Ronald Matekaitis, until

November 30, 2010.

## **Appointments expiring for July 2009:**

a.) Fairdale Light District – 2 positions

b.) General Assistance Appeal Board – 5 positions

c.) DeKalb County Rehab and Nursing Center Operating Board – 1 position

d.) Somonauk Cemetery Association – 5 positions

Moved by Mr. Anderson, seconded by Ms. LaVigne, and it was carried unanimously to forward the appointments to the full board for approval.

## PROPOSED 2009/2010 BUDGET CALENDAR CHANGES - STEVE WALT

Moved by Mr. Andersen, seconded by Mr. Haines, and it was carried unanimously to send the proposed changes to the Finance Committee.

## APPROVAL OF THE COUNTY BOARD AGENDA

Mr. Ray Bockman, County Administrator, reviewed the County Board Agenda for the Board Meeting to be held on June 17, 2009.

Moved by Ms. Fauci, seconded by Mr. Haines, and it was carried unanimously to approve the County Board Agenda and to forward it to the full board for approval.

#### **GENERAL DISCUSSION**

Ms. LaVigne, Chairman of the County Highway Committee, said that she had no report.

Mr. Jeff Metzger, Chairman of the Health and Human Services Committees, said that his committee heard from Ms. Cathy Anderson from the Rehab and Nursing Center and Mr. Michael Flora from the Ben Gordon Center.

Ms. Allen, Chairman of the Law and Justice Committee, said that her meeting was short and brief. They heard from Ms. Marilyn Stromborg who updated them on the Drug Court. The committee then went on a tour of the jail and morgue.

Ms. Julia Fauci, Chairman of the Forest Preserve Committee, said that the Forest Preserve District heard that they would be receiving some USDA stimulus funds that they applied for. She also said that the relocation of the Ellwood Cabin is progressing. Ms. Fauci informed the committee that the Ash Bore Beetle has been found near North 1st Street and Route 64.

Mr. Michael Haines, Chairman of the Finance Committee, said that they did not meet last month.

Ms. Eileen Dubin, Chairman of the Economic Development Committee, said that her committee did not meet last month either, but that they have a full agenda for tomorrow night's meeting.

Mr. Ken Andersen, Chairman of the Planning and Zoning Committee, said that his committee approved the FPL Request unanimously at their last meeting and that the ordinance will be coming before the full County Board this month for approval. He mentioned that there have been three items changed or added to the conditions and they are Exhibit C, item #36 (added indemnification clause for the County), item #11 (hours that FPL can work) and

the decommissioning process item. He said that he is happy with the way they are all written.

Before adjourning, Chairman Tobias reminded county board members that if they would like to attend the NACo Annual Conference this summer to please let Mary Supple know by June 19th.

She also mentioned a Renew DeKalb event will be held at the new Van Buer Plaza on June 10, 2009. She was not sure what time and reminded members to go online to <u>renewdekalb.org</u> and they should be able to find out.

Chairman Tobias informed the committee members that the Supportive Living Center is now 100% full.

Finally, Chairman Tobias said that the Aurora Sportsmen Club invited the entire county board to their grand opening event on July 4, 2009 @ 9:00a.m. at their new headquarters off of Rueff Road in Waterman, IL

## **ADJOURNMENT**

It was moved by Mr. Andersen, seconded by Mr. Haines, and it was carried unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,
Chairman Ruth Anne Tobias

RAT:mcs

E:Committee/Executive Committee Minutes 060909.doc