DRAFT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES November 9, 2010

The Executive Committee of the DeKalb County Board met on Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 7:00p.m. at the Administration Building's Conference Room East. Chairman Ruth Anne Tobias called the meeting to order. Members present were Ken Andersen, Larry Anderson, Eileen Dubin, Julia Fauci, Michael Haines, and Jeff Metzger, Sr. Ms. Allen and Ms. LaVigne were absent. Chairman Tobias asked Mr. Augsburger, who is the Vice-Chairman of the County Highway Committee to please sit in for Ms. LaVigne, and Mr. Oncken, of the Law and Justice Committee to sit in for Ms. Allen. Others present were Ray Bockman, Derek Tyson, Julia Fullerton, Jill Olson, John Hulseberg, Gary Hanson, Sally DeFauw, Mark Todd, Paul Stoddard, John Emerson, Pat Vary, Steve Walt and Stephen Reid.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Moved by Mr. Metzger, Sr., seconded by Ms. Fauci, and it was carried unanimously to approve the amended minutes from October 2010.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Mr. Bockman asked to add two items to the agenda to include 2 resolutions regarding Evergreen Village. Chairman Tobias placed them as item #4A.

Moved by Mr. Andersen, seconded by Ms. Dubin, and it was carried unanimously to approve the agenda.

APPOINTMENTS

1. <u>DeKalb County Nursing</u> <u>Home Foundation</u>:

Ms. Joy Gulotta, to be reappointed for a term of 3 years, until 11/30/2013.

2.) <u>911 Board</u>:

Mr. William King, Sandwich Fire Chief, to fill the unexpired term of Chief Rick Olson who is retiring, until 11/30/2011.

Mr. Jeff Metzger, Sr., reappointed for a term of 2 years, until 11/30/2012.

Mr. Todd Merritt, to fill the unexpired term of Lt. Al Newby who is retiring, until 11/30/2013.

3.) <u>Sheriff's Merit Commission:</u> Mr. Todd Walker, reappointment for a term of 6 years, until 11/30/2016

4.) <u>River Valley Workforce Investment Board</u>:

Mr. Tom Choice, reappointment for a term of 2 years, until 10/01/2012.

5.) **DeKalb County Public Building Commission**: Mr. Mike Larson, appointment for a term of 5 years, until 09/30/2015.

Appointments expiring for December 2010:

- 1.) Rehab & Nursing Center Operating Board 1 position
- 2.) DeKalb Area Convention and Visitors Bureau 1 position (county board member needed).
- 3.) Community Services Administrative Board 1 position
- 4.) Board of Health 4 positions

Moved by Mr. Anderson, seconded by Mr. Andersen, and it was carried unanimously to forward these appointment recommendations to the full board for approval.

RESOLUTION #R2010-59 AND #R2010-60 REGARDING EVERGREEN VILLAGE – MR. RAY BOCKMAN

Mr. Bockman, DeKalb County Administrator, approached the committee about two resolutions regarding Evergreen Village that are designed to put the County in a position to apply for CDBG funds under the Disaster Recovery Program. The County is eligible under a 2008 flood event in which the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity received some \$169 million from HUD for a series of flood events in Illinois, one of which is called Project Ike, which included DeKalb County. It is our hope to apply for funds to match the federal grant that we hope to get in order to buyout the Evergreen Village Mobile Home Park. What resolution #R2010-60 does is declare this project area an area having a particular urgency, he further stated.

Moved by Mr. Andersen, seconded by Ms. Fauci, and it was carried unanimously to forward these two resolutions to the full board for approval.

APPROVAL OF THE COUNTY BOARD AGENDA

Mr. Ray Bockman, County Administrator, reviewed the County Board Agenda for the Board Meeting to be held on November 17, 2010.

Moved by Mr. Haines, seconded by Ms. Fauci, and it was carried unanimously to approve the County Board Agenda and to forward it to the full board for approval.

GENERAL DISCUSSION

Mr. Haines, Chairman of the Finance Committee, said that their meeting and public hearing were well attended last week. The committee forwarded a budget that does not create the tax levy, doesn't have any forced layoffs and didn't cut the mental health allocation.

Mr. Metzger, Sr., Chairman of the Health and Human Services Committee, said that he had no meeting last month.

Ms. Dubin, Chairman of the Economic Development Committee, said that they heard a summary of the grant and heard the budget appeals. They also heard about the Small Business Portal with a presentation and discussed the Costs Savings Report. She also mentioned that the Small Business Expo event will be held on Monday, November 29, 2010 in the Gathertorium from 6:00p.m. to 9:00p.m.

Mr. Fauci, Chairman of the Forest Preserve District Committee, said that there will be an Executive Session next week at the Board meeting regarding land acquisition.

Mr. Andersen, Chairman of the Planning & Zoning Committee, said that they will not be meeting in November but will meet on December 8, 2010. He also mentioned that there will be a public hearing on 11/18/10 regarding a Special Use Permit Request for a dog kennel.

Mr. Oncken, Member of the Law and Justice Committee said that his committee heard the budget appeals and from the State's Attorney's Office.

Mr. Augsburger, Vice-Chairman of the County Highway Committee, said that they will be sending one resolution to the full board for approval on an Intergovernmental Agreement with the Sycamore Park District and a Dog Park. The agreement is that the County will allow the Sycamore Park District to make present and future improvements necessary for use of the Dog Park. The Park District agrees to pay the actual cost of the construction of any set amenities and improvements and they also agree to be 100% responsible for any maintenance costs. This will be at no cost to the County.

Mr. Anderson asked Mr. Augsburger is any liability insurance?

Mr. Augsburger said that he would check on that for him.

Chairman Tobias said that the jail consultant has been selected who is Dennis Kimme and Associates. The Ad Hoc Jail Planning Committee will meet on December 14, 2010. She also reminded the committee that the next Ad Hoc Courthouse Oversight Committee meeting is December 8, 2010.

ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Mr. Andersen, seconded by Mr. Haines, and it was carried unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Ruth Anne Tobias

RAT: mcs E:Committee/Executive Committee Minutes 11092010.doc