DeKalb County Hazards Mitigation Committee

Meeting Notes: October 20, 2011

1. Welcome and Introductions

The meeting commenced at 2:00 PM in the Gathertorium of the Legislative Center. Standard roundtable introductions were made for each constituent. Molly O'Toole of Molly O'Toole & Associates, Ltd. was designated as the meetings presenter. The 2008 DeKalb County All Hazards Mitigation Plan, the Agenda for the October 20, 2011 annual meeting, and the 2011 Annual Draft Evaluation Report were distributed to guests of the meeting. There were 16 total attendees in all. The following is a list of attendees, and the organizations represented:

Taunya Fisher Village of Kingston
Joel Maurer City of DeKalb
John Acardo DeKalb County Clerk

Dean Johnson DeKalb County Soil and Water Conservation

District

Paul Miller DeKalb County Planning and Zoning Department

Molly O'Toole Molly O'Toole and Associates, Ltd.

Julian Magdaleno DeKalb County Board Office

Dennis Miller DeKalb County Coroner/ Emergency Services

Ken Andersen DeKalb County Board District 3

Walter Maudziarz Town of Cortland

Nathan Schwartz DeKalb County Highway Department

Russ Josh Sycamore Township/ DeKalb County Probation

Peter S. Polarek
John Laskowski
City of Sycamore
City of Sycamore

Rebecca Von Drasek DeKalb County Planning and Zoning Department

Ray Bockman DeKalb County Administrator

Molly O'Toole proceeded with a greeting, and discussed the agenda briefly. The purpose of the meeting is to prepare the annual report, to determine if changes are needed to the mitigation plan, select a chair of the DeKalb County All Hazards Mitigation Committee, and to address concerns.

- 2. Public Comment None.
- 3. Selection of a DeKalb County Hazard Mitigation Committee Chair

The duties of the Chair were described as presentation of the annual meeting, maintaining contacts, and preparation of the 5-year mitigation plan update.

Paul Miller, Director of DeKalb County Planning and Zoning, was nominated for chair by Ray Bockman, and seconded by Dennis Miller. Consensus.

4. Status of 2008 All Hazards Mitigation Plan

According to Molly O'Toole, FEMA has received adoption resolutions of the Mitigation Plan from all participating communities. The County also has copies of all resolutions except for the Village of Lee's. She noted that the DeKalb County Mitigation Plan will need to be updated in 2013 (5-year update required by FEMA). Molly also highlighted the number of Illinois counties that have now adopted mitigation plans.

5. Review of Draft of 2011 Mitigation Plan Annual Report (Planning Step 10)

Molly O'Toole ran through the status of the 22 "Action Items" in the draft Annual report. Questions were answered periodically. All agreed that the Mitigation Plan did not require an update at this time. Molly asked for communities to send her additional information on the flood and winter storm events of the past year to summarize for the Annual Report. Molly will finalize the Report and send to Julian Magdaleno for distribution. The Annual Report will need to be made available to the public and CRS communities should send the Report to Scott Cofoid at ISO.

6. Project/ Grant Funding Discussion

Molly O'Toole discussed the IEMA has available mitigation funds, but also mentioned that FEMA's "Disaster Relief Fund" is frozen yet again, and that the DCEO may still have additional Ike Disaster Recovery Funds. Paul Maurer noted that the Village of Shabbona was the DeKalb County recipient of the DCEO Disaster Recovery Infrastructure Program funds. Molly also noted that the Evergreen Village Mitigation Project grant application is being evaluated by FEMA, once again.

7. Other Items - None.

8. Next Meeting

The next meeting will occur in approximately one year. September 6 and 13, 2012 were mentioned as possible dates. Paul Miller will check back and verify.

9. Adjournment



DeKalb County Hazards Mitigation Committee Sign-In List

October 20, 2011

Name: Peter S. Polarele
,
E-Mail: ppolarek@afyofsycamore.com
Telephone: 815 - 895 - 45/4
Organization Represented: City of Sycamore - Fire Dept.
Name: Rebecca Von Draseh
E-Mail: ruondrasele@dekelbcounty.org
Telephone: 815-895-7188
Organization Represented: Delcolb County P32
Name: 1 Cay bockedy
E-Mail: VGockman Colock+ 13 Couly . Ove
Telephone: \$15 885-746
Organization Represented: Jot Al B County
DIMIL DIVIA
Name: Paul Miller, DeKallo Co.
E-Mail: Julian Magdaleno, DeKalb Co.
Telephone: Molly O'Toole, Consultant
E-Mail: Julian Magdaleno, DeKalb Co. Tolephone: Molly O'Toole, Consultant Organization Represented: Russ Josh Scyammore Twp.



DeKalb County Hazards Mitigation Committee Sign-In List

October 20, 2011

16 70191

Name: Jaunya tischer
E-Mail: treasurer@ village of Kingston.org
Telephone: 815-784-5572
Organization Represented: Village of Kingston
Name: JOEC MAURER
E-Mail: I MAURER (& CITYOFDEKAUB, COM
Telephone: 815 748-2070
Organization Represented: COF DERALB
Name: John Acardo
E-Mail: jacardo @delhalb camby org
Telephone: 815 895 7142
Organization Represented: Delkalb Co.
Name: De an Johnson
E-Mail: dean. Johnson D. I. nacdnet net
Telephone:815 - 756 - 3237
Organization Represented: De Kalb Co. SwcD
Also present Paul Miller, Molly O'Took, Julian
Russ Josh



DeKalb County Hazards Mitigation Committee Sign-In List

October 20, 2011

Name: Dennis miller
E-Mail: imilleredeknibcounty.org
Telephone: 8/5/895-7206
Organization Represented: 8-4-0-7
Name: Ken Andersen
E-Mail: Kenendersondist3 eyhoo.com
Telephone: 8/5-901-2759
Organization Represented: CBm #3
" (M)==== MAG
Name: WALTER MAGNZIARZ
E-Mail: townadministrator@cortlandil.org
Telephone: 815. 756. 9041
Organization Represented: Town of contumo
Name: Nathan Schwart
E-Mail: nschwartz @ dekalt county.org
Telephone: 815 758 9513
Organization Represented: