#### COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

#### July 18, 2012

The County Board met in special session at the Legislative Center Wednesday, July 18, 2011. The Chair called the meeting to order and the Clerk called the roll. Those Members present were Mr. Tyson, Ms. Vary, Mr. Whelan, Mrs. Allen, Mr. Andersen, Mr. Augsburger, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. DeFauw, Mr. Deverell, Mr. Emerson, Ms. Fauci, Mrs. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Hulseberg, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Oncken, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner and Chairman Anderson. Those Members absent were Mr. Brown, Mr. Foster, Mr. Newport and Mr. Reid. Twenty Members were present and four were absent.

Chairman Anderson asked Mr. Cribben to lead the pledge to the flag.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

#### Motion

Ms. Fauci moved to approve the Minutes of May 16, 2012. Mr. Augsburger seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

Chairman Anderson asked for a voice vote on the approval of the Minutes. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#### Motion

Mr. Hulseberg moved to approve the Agenda and Mrs. Turner seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

Chairman Anderson asked for a voice vote to approve the Agenda. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

#### COMMUNICATIONS AND REFERRALS

## <u>Proclamation P2012-04: Honoring DeKalb County Resident Joe Bussone and proclaiming</u> July 28, 2012 as Joe Bussone Day

#### PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

Anthony Cvek residing at 235 E. Sycamore St., Sycamore, IL requested time to speak under Item R2012-54 of the Executive Committee.

#### REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

#### Ordinance 2012-11: Amendment to the DeKalb County Code

#### Motion

Mrs. Tobias moved to amend the DeKalb County Code under Article III, section 2-66 (c) pertaining to the required qualifications for the position of the County Administrator. Mr. Augsburger seconded the motion.

#### Motion

Ms. Vary moved to hereby amended to strike the requirement of candidates needing to possess a masters degree from an accredited university and changes the code to allow for candidates to have a minimum of a bachelor of science degree from an accredited university and a minimum of ten years of progressively responsible professional experience in local government, nine years of which must be in the management of local government affairs. Further, candidates who are not credentialed by the International City/County Management Association, (ICMA), will, if hired, have one year to become a Credentialed Manager. Ms. Fauci seconded the motion.

#### Roll Call Vote on Amendment

Chairman Anderson called for a roll call vote on the amendment those Members voting yea were Mr. Tyson, Ms. Vary, Mr. Whelan, Mrs. Allen, Mr. Augsburger, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. DeFauw, Ms. Fauci, Mrs. Fullerton, Mr. Hulseberg, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Oncken, Mrs. Tobias and Mrs. Turner. Those Members voting nay were Mr. Andersen, Mr. Deverell, Mr. Emerson, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Stoddard and Chairman Anderson. Fourteen Members yea and six Members voted nay. Motion carried.

## Roll Call Vote

The Chair asked for a roll call vote on the Ordinance as amended. Those Members voting yea were Mr. Tyson, Ms. Vary, Mr. Whelan, Mrs. Allen, Mr. Augsburger, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. DeFauw, Mr. Deverell, Ms. Fauci, Mrs. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Hulseberg, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Oncken, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, and Mrs. Turner. Those Members voting nay were Mr. Andersen, Mr. Emerson and Chairman Anderson. Seventeen Members voted yea and three Members voted nay. Motion carried.

# Resolution R2012-54: Approval of the Hiring of an Executive Search Firm for the County Administrator's position

### Motion

Mrs. Tobias moved to approve the hiring of an Executive Search Firm to assist in the search for a new County Administrator. The award goes to Voorhees Associates, LLC of Deerfield, Illinois, at the cost of not to exceed \$19,900.00. Further, Ray Bockman shall remain County administrator until such time that his replacement can be hired.

#### Roll Call Vote

Chairman Anderson asked for a voice vote on the Resolution. Those Members voting yea were Mr. Tyson, Ms. Vary, Mr. Whelan, Mrs. Allen, Mr. Andersen, Mr. Augsburger, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. DeFauw, Mr. Deverell, Mr. Emerson, Ms. Fauci, Mrs. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mr. Hulseberg, Mr. Metzger, Mr. Oncken, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner and Chairman Anderson. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried

unanimously.

# **OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS**

Planning and Zoning Committee is calling a special meeting Wednesday, July 25, 2012.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

**Motion** 

Ms. Fauci moved to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Gudmunson seconded the motion.

## Voice Vote

The Chair called for a voice vote on the adjournment. All Members present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

ATTEST:	DeKalb County Board Chairman
DeKalb County Clerk	