Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

> DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

# COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE PROCEEDINGS June 18, 2014

The DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners met in regular session at the Legislative Center Wednesday, June 18, 2014. President Metzger called the meeting to order and the Secretary called the roll. Those Commissioners present were Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Whelan, Mr. Cribben, Mr. Cvek, Mrs. DeFauw, Mr. Deverell, Mr. Emerson, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Jones, Mr. O'Barski, Mr. Oncken, Mr. Pietrowski, and Mr. Reid. Those absent were Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Brown and Mr. Foster. Twenty Commissioners were present and three were absent and one seat remained vacant due to a resignation in District 5.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Motion

Mr. Johnson moved to approve the Minutes of May 21, 2014. Mrs. DeFauw seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

President Metzger asked for a voice vote on the approval of the Minutes. All Commissioners present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

## APPROVAL OF AGENDA

<u>Motion</u>

Mrs. Turner moved to approve the Agenda and Mrs. Tobias seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

President Metzger asked for a voice vote on the Agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

## STANDING COMMITTEE REPORT

## **Claims for June 2014**

## Motion

Ms. Fauci moved to approve the claims for this month, and the off cycle claims paid during the previous month, in the amount of \$69,903.71. Mrs. Haji-Sheikh seconded the motion.

# Roll Call Vote

President Metzger asked for a roll call vote on the approval of the claims. Those Commissioners voting yea were Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Whelan, Mr. Cribben, Mr. Cvek, Mrs. DeFauw, Mr. Deverell, Mr. Emerson, Ms. Fauci, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Fullerton, Mr. Gudmunson, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Jones, Mr. O'Barski, Mr. Oncken, Mr. Pietrowski, Mr. Reid, and Present Metzger. All Commissioners present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

County Forest Preserve Proceedings May 21, 2014 Page 2 of 2

#### **OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS**

Mrs. Haji-Sheikh shared The DeKalb County Forest Preserve, KishHealth System, the Kishwaukee Family YMCA, Live Healthy DeKalb, the Illinois League of Cyclists, and the DeKalb County Convention and Visitor's Bureau have been participating in the "PEDAL PAL" program. She reiterated that PEDAL PAL is a way for local businesses, park districts, forest preserves, municipalities and others in DeKalb County to promote cycling by placing a decal on their establishment which signifies that they are bicycle friendly. Each location that displays the decal agrees to allow passing cyclists to come in and get a drink of water, use the bathroom and/or use the phone in case of emergency. Businesses that display the PEDALPAL decal will be included on the PEDALPAL.org website as locations that are bicycle friendly.

Mrs. Haji-Sheikh also shared that she recently was part of a roundtable discussion at the Regional Planning Commission Meeting to help build on to the bicycle initiatives throughout the County.

Ms. Fauci announced that it has come to the Forest Preserve Districts attention that the agenda does not have a place for persons to be heard from the floor on Forest Preserve District matter so she asked that the item be added to the agenda from now on. All of the Commissioners agreed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

<u>Motion</u>

Mrs. Fullerton moved to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Oncken seconded the motion. <u>Voice Vote</u>

President Metzger called for a voice vote on the adjournment. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

President, DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners

Secretary, DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners

Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.