Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

# COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING December 5, 2016

The DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners met for their Organizational Meeting at the Legislative Center Monday, December 5, 2016. County Board Chairman Mark Pietrowski called the meeting to order and the Secretary called the roll. Those present were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Pietrowski, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Schmarje, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan and Ms. Willis. Mr. Bunge was absent. A quorum was established with twenty-three Commissioners present and one absent.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

## Motion

Mrs. Haji-Sheikh moved to approve the agenda and Ms. Little seconded the motion.

# Voice Vote

County Board Chairman Pietrowski asked for a voice vote on the agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

#### PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

No one from the public requested to speak.

# ELECTION OF FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT COMMISSIONER PRESIDENT

# **Nominations**

Ms. Askins nominated Mr. Mark Pietrowski to be the Forest Preserve District Commissioner President. Mr. Bagby seconded the motion.

County Board Chairman Pietrowski asked three times if there were any other nominations.

#### Motion to Close Nominations

Hearing no other nominations, Ms. Askins moved to close nominations for the Forest Preserve District Commissioner President. Mr. Frieders seconded the motion.

# Vote to Close Nominations

The motion was carried unanimously by voice vote to close the nominations.

# Vote to Elect the Forest Preserve District Commissioner President

A roll call was taken to elect Mr. Pietrowski as the Forest Preserve President. Those voting yea were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Pietrowski, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Schmarje, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan and Ms. Willis. All Commissioners present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

County Forest Preserve District Organizational Meeting December 5, 2016 Page 2 of 2

# ELECTION OF FOREST PRESERVE VICE-PRESIDENT

#### Nominations

Mr. Frieders nominated Mr. Tracy Jones to be the Forest Preserve District Commissioner Vice-President. Mr. Brown seconded the motion.

President Pietrowski asked three times if there were any other nominations for a Forest Preserve District Commissioner Vice-President.

#### **Close Nominations**

Hearing no other nominations, Ms. Askins moved to close nominations for a Vice-President. Mr. Schmarje seconded the motion.

# Vote to Close Nominations

The motion was carried unanimously by voice vote to close the nominations for Vice-President.

# Vote to Elect the Forest Preserve District Commissioner Vice-President

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote to elect Mr. Tracy Jones as the Forest Preserve District Commissioner Vice-Chairman. Those voting yea were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Pietrowski, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Schmarje, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan and Ms. Willis. All Commissioners present voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

#### FOREST PRESERVE COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

President Pietrowski asked for a motion to approve the following Forest Preserve Committee Appointments: Chairman – Bob Brown, Vice-Chairman – Tim Bagby, Misty Haji-Sheikh, Maureen Little, Chris Porterfield, Craig Roman and Jonathan Schmarje.

Motion

Mr. Bagby moved to approve the Forest Preserve Committee Appointments. Ms. Little seconded the motion.

## Voice Vote

All Commissioners present voted yea. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS**

There were no old or new business items discussed.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

# <u>Motion</u>

Mrs. Haji-Sheikh moved to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Cribben seconded the motion.

# Voice Vote

President Pietrowski called for a voice vote on the adjournment. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

President, DeKalb County Forest
Preserve District Commissioners

Secretary, DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners

Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.