Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE PROCEEDINGS October 19, 2016

The DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners met in regular session at the Legislative Center's Gathertorium on Wednesday, October 19, 2016. President Pietrowski called the meeting to order and the Secretary called the roll. Those Commissioners present were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, Mr. Emerson, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mr. Gudmunson, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Whelan and President Pietrowski. Ms. Willis and Mr. Metzger were absent. A quorum was established with twenty two Commissioner present and two absent.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion

Mr. Bagby moved to approve the minutes of September 21, 2016. Mr. Luebke seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote on the approval of minutes. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion

Mrs. Askins moved to approve the agenda and Mrs. Haji-Sheikh seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote on the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no persons to be heard from.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

Resolution FP-R2016-04: Nelson Property Land Acquisition

Motion

Mrs. Turner moved that the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners hereby approve the acquisition of 16.1 acres of forest and stream habitat and farmland adjacent to the Prairie Oaks and Swanson Grove Forest Preserves in the total amount of \$132,020.00 as well as future right of first refusal on an additional 41.4 acres of adjacent land. Mrs. Turner noted that the Forest Preserve District plans to apply for a 50% grant assistance from the Illinois Clean Energy Community Foundation for the 16.1 acre parcel. Mrs. Tobias seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote on the motion as presented. Those Commissioners voting yea were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, Mr. Emerson, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mr. Gudmunson, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Whelan and President Pietrowski. All Commissioners presented voted yea. The motion carried unanimously.

County Forest Preserve Proceedings October 19, 2016 Page 2 of 2

Resolution FP-R2016-05: Haines Property Land Acquisition

Motion

Mrs. Turner moved the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners hereby approve the acquisition of approximately 63.2 acres of forest, prairie, stream and Kishwaukee River habitat adjacent to the Prairie Oaks, Swanson Grove and Nelson Prairie Forest Preserve in the total amount of \$529,615.64 with said property to be sold on a 10 year contract. Mrs. Haji-Sheikh seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote on the motion. Those Commissioners voting yea were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, Mr. Emerson, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mr. Gudmunson, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Whelan and President Pietrowski. All Commissioners presented voted yea. The motion carried unanimously.

Claims Being Paid in October 2016

Motion

Mrs. Turner moved to approve the payment of claims for this month, and the off cycle claims paid during the previous month, in the amount of \$122,274.96. Mrs. Tobias seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote on the approval of the claims to be paid in October. Those Commissioners voting yea were Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, Mr. Emerson, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mr. Gudmunson, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Stoddard, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Whelan and President Pietrowski. The motion carried unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS

DeKalb County Forest Preserve Superintendent Terry Hannan provided a brief photo slideshow of the forest, prairie, stream and Kishwaukee River habitat located on the Haines Property that the Commission unanimously approved to purchase.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion

Mrs. Turner moved to adjourn the meeting and Ms. Askins seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

President Pietrowski called for a voice vote on the adjournment. Motion carried unanimously.

Douglas J. Johnson, Secretary

DeKalb County Forest Preserve

Mark Pietrowski Jr., President,

DeKalb County Forest Preserve

District Commissioners

DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners

Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.