Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

# DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

# COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PROCEEDINGS May 17, 2017

The DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners met in regular session at the Legislative Center's Gathertorium on Wednesday, May 17, 2017. President Pietrowski called the meeting to order and the Secretary called the roll. Those Commissioners present were Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, and President Pietrowski. All twenty-four Commissioners were present.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

### Motion

Mr. Luebke moved to approve the minutes of April 19, 2017. Mr. Porterfield seconded the motion.

### Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote on the approval of minutes. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#### Motion

Ms. Willis moved to approve the agenda and Mr. Faivre seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

### PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no persons to be heard from.

#### STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

# <u>Claims</u>

## **Motion**

Mr. Brown moved to approve the payment of claims for this month, and the off cycle claims paid during the previous month, including all claims for travel, meals, and lodging, in the amount of \$157,592.37. Mrs. Haji-Sheikh seconded the motion.

## Roll Call Vote

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote on the approval of the May 2017 claims to be paid. Those Commissioners voting yea were Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, and President Pietrowski. All twenty-four Commissions voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

County Forest Preserve District Proceedings May 17, 2017 Page 2 of 2

### FOREST PRESERVE PRESENTATION

DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Superintendent Terry Hannan gave a PowerPoint presentation illustrating the many forest preserves in DeKalb County and outlining their mission. The DeKalb County Forest Preserve's mission is to acquire lands in order to preserve, protect, restore and restock the flora, the fauna and the natural beauties of such lands, in their natural state and condition, for the education and recreation of our citizens.

### **OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS**

There were no other items discussed.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion

Ms. Askins moved to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Osland seconded the motion.

Voice Vote

President Pietrowski called for a voice vote on the adjournment. Motion carried unanimously.

Douglas J. Johnson Secretary
DeKalo County Forest Preserve

District Commissioners

Mark Pietrowski Jr., President, DeKalb County Forest Preserve

**District Commissioners**