Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

> DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

# COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PROCEEDINGS November 15, 2017

The DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners met in regular session at the Legislative Center's Gathertorium on Wednesday, November 15, 2017. President Pietrowski called the meeting to order and the Secretary called the roll. Those Commissioners present were Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Hughes, and President Pietrowski. Mr. Bunge was absent. A quorum was established with twenty-three Commissioners present and one absent.

# **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

#### Motion

Mrs. Emmer moved to approve the minutes of the October 18, 2017 meeting. Mr. Bagby seconded the motion.

## Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote on the approval of minutes. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

## **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

# <u>Motion</u>

Mr. Faivre moved to approve the agenda and Ms. Askins seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

## PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no persons to be heard from.

## STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

## <u>Resolution FP-R2017-09: Intergovernmental Agreement with Sycamore Park District</u> <u>Motion</u>

Mr. Brown moved that the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners hereby approve to enter into an intergovernmental agreement with the Sycamore Park District for the provisions of providing the shared costs and services associated with the construction and engineering of the Great Western Trail Extension Project which includes/extends from the East End of Sycamore Forest Preserve to Old Mill Park in Sycamore, Illinois. Mr. Roman seconded the motion as presented.

#### Voice Vote

President Pietrowski called for a voice vote on the motion as presented. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

County Forest Preserve District Proceedings November 15, 2017 Page 2 of 3

# Ordinance FP-O2017-01: Adoption of the Property Tax Levy for FY 2018

## Motion

Mr. Brown moved the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners hereby approve to levy upon all the taxable property within DeKalb County, as assessed, for the calendar year beginning January 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2017, and to be collected for the fiscal year beginning January 1, 2018 and ending December 31, 2018, in the total amount of \$1,545,000. Mr. Jones seconded the motion.

## Roll Call Vote

The President called for a roll call vote. Those Commissioners voting yea were Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mr. Hughes, and President Pietrowski. Mr. Roman and Mrs. Haji-Sheikh were opposed. The motion carried with twenty-one Commissioners voting yea and two voting nay.

#### Ordinance FP-O2017-02: Annual Appropriation for FY 2018

## <u>Motion</u>

Mr. Brown moved the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners hereby adopt the Forest Preserve District's Annual Appropriation Ordinance for the fiscal year starting January 1, 2018 and ending December 31, 2018, in the total amount of \$1,971,000. Mrs. Emmer seconded the motion.

#### Roll Call Vote

A roll call vote was taken on the motion as presented. Those Commissioners voting yea were Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Hughes, and President Pietrowski. All Commissioner present voted yea. The motion carried unanimously.

## **Claims**

#### Motion

Mr. Brown moved to approve the payment of claims for the month of November 2017, and the off cycle claims paid during the previous month, including all claims for travel, meals, and lodging, in the amount of \$73,541.64. Mr. Cribben seconded the motion.

# Roll Call Vote

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote on the approval of the November Claims. Those Commissioners voting yea were Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Osland, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Hughes, and President Pietrowski. All Commissioner present voted yea. The motion carried unanimously.

Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes. **County Forest Preserve District Proceedings** November 15, 2017 Page 3 of 3

# **OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS**

Mr. Roman thanked those who were involved with making the Annual Pumpkin Run a success for yet another year.

Additionally, Commissioners wished everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and Safe Travels to all.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion

Ms. Askins moved to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Luebke seconded the motion. Voice Vote

President Pietrowski called for a voice vote on the adjournment. Motion carried unanimously.

1 7 KI N phnson/Secretary Doug 5101

alb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners

Mark Pietrowski Jr., President, DeKalb County Forest Preserve **District Commissioners** 

Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.