Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

> DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

# COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PROCEEDINGS October 18, 2017

The DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners met in regular session at the Legislative Center's Gathertorium on Wednesday, October 18, 2017. President Pietrowski called the meeting to order and the Secretary called the roll. Those Commissioners present were Mr. Hughes, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, and President Pietrowski. Mr. Osland and Mr. Faivre were absent. A quorum was established with twenty-two Commissioners present and two absent.

# **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

#### **Motion**

Ms. Little moved to approve the minutes of the September 20, 2017 meeting. Mrs. Emmer seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote on the approval of minutes. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously.

## **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

<u>Motion</u>

Mrs. Haji-Sheikh moved to approve the agenda and Mr. Roman seconded the motion.

#### Voice Vote

President Pietrowski asked for a voice vote to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

## PERSONS TO BE HEARD FROM THE FLOOR

There were no persons to be heard from.

## STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

# <u>Claims</u>

# <u>Motion</u>

Mr. Brown moved to approve the payment of claims for the month of October 2017, and the off cycle claims paid during the previous month, including all claims for travel, meals, and lodging, in the amount of \$80,021.31. Mr. Luebke seconded the motion.

## Roll Call Vote

President Pietrowski called for a roll call vote on the approval of the October Claims. Those Commissioners voting yea were Mr. Hughes, Mr. Jones, Ms. Leifheit, Ms. Little, Mr. Luebke, Mr. Plote, Ms. Polanco, Mr. Porterfield, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roman, Mr. Stoddard, Mr. Whelan, Ms. Willis, Ms. Askins, Mr. Bagby, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Cribben, Mrs. Emmer, Mr. Frieders, Mrs. Haji-Sheikh, and President Pietrowski. All Commissioners voted yea. Motion carried unanimously. County Forest Preserve District Proceedings October 20, 2017 Page 2 of 2

# **OLD BUSINESS / NEW BUSINESS**

Mr. Brown proudly announced that the Sycamore Forest Preserve was now open!

He additionally introduced Terry Hannan, Superintendent of the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District who showed some pictures of the new Preserve. Mr. Hannan expressed his thanks to The Citizens of DeKalb County, DeKalb County Board and Forest Preserve Commissioners, Planning & Zoning Committee, Community Development Department, DeKalb County Highway Department, DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Staff, Volunteers and Donors, DeKalb County Administrator Gary Hanson and all the others who helped preserve this beautiful "in –town" recreation and conservation area.

A formal Grand Opening Event and Ribbon Cutting Ceremony will be coordinated and scheduled for a later date.

Bikers: This will be the new trail head for the Great Western trail. While the old trail head is still open eventually it will be closed and parking will no longer be available there.

Remember to leash your dogs and pick up after them. We have off leash dog areas south of McGirr Rd at Afton, and the north prairie at Merritt Prairie.

Also the small pond is catch and release.

Mr. Hannan lastly shared some pictures and comments about the annual Jeff's Trees event that took place this year at Swanson Grove, adjacent to the Prairie Oaks Forest Preserve in Kingston.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

#### <u>Motion</u>

1011

Ms. Askins moved to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Bagby seconded the motion. Voice Vote

President Pietrowski called for a voice vote on the adjournment. Motion carried unanimously.

ouglas J. Johnson, Secretary eKalb County Forest Preserve istrict Commissioners

Mark Pietrowski Jr., President, DeKalb County Forest Preserve District Commissioners

Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Forest Preserve District Commissioners at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.